## **JANUARY 8, 1873**

A number of gentlemen met a the Court House in Dyersburg on the 8<sup>th</sup> day of January 1873 when the following certificate of election was presented to F.G. Sampson an acting Justice of the Peach for Dyer County:

"I, A. B. Tigrett, Sheriff of Dyer County, hereby certify that at an election held in the Town of Dyersburg on the 28<sup>th</sup> day of December 1872 for the purpose of electing seven Aldermen for the Town of Dyersburg for the year 1873, the following named parties were duly elected according to law, they receiving the highest number of votes to wit: Charles P. Clark, W. E. Deberry, Geo. D. McAllister, C. J. Coker, William C. Doyle, J.C. Pinner and W.P. Sugg. Given under my hand at office in Dyersburg this January 2, 1873.

A. B. Tigrett, Sheriff of Dyer County"

Thereupon all said Aldermen elect except J.C. Coker who was absent from Town were duly sworn according to lay by F. G. Sampson Esq.

The Board of Aldermen thereupon proceeded to the election of Mayor by ballot when C.P. Clark was duly elected and qualified.

The Mayor and Aldermen then proceeded to elect a Recorder and Treasurer when W.C. Doyle was clearly and was assed duly qualified.

The Mayor and Aldermen next proceeded to the election of Marshal when John W. Nichols was unanimously elected and he was duly sworn.

On motion the Recorder and Treasurer and Marshal were allowed until the next meeting to execute their bonds.

On motion Aldermen Pinner, Deberry, Doyle were appointed to settle with the offices of last year and report.

On motion the Board adjourned.

C.P. Clark, Mayor

Attest:

W. C. Doyle, Recorder