BOARD MEETING September 7, 1874 Court House

The Board of Mayor and Aldermen of the Town of Dyersburg met in regular meeting at the Court House on this Monday evening, September 7, 1874.

Present Mayor Neal, Aldermen Sugg, Deberry, Thurman, Sampson & White and Jno. M. Nichols, Marshall.

The minutes of the last meeting was read, approved and signed.

The committee appointed at last meeting to confer with the property owners in regard to opening a street in front of Mr. Stills lot and others, reported that the parties had agreed to give fifteen feet each making a thirty foot street. Whereupon, on motion from Ald. Sampson it was ordered that the street be opened at the expense of the property owners.

The committee on Work House not being prepared to make their report was continued to our next regular meeting.

The accounts presented at this meeting was laid over to our next regular meeting.

Mr. Jno. M. Nichols tendered his resignation as Marshall of the Town of Dyersburg which was received and Aldermen Sugg, White & Deberry appointed a committee to settle with him.

An election was then held to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Marshall Nichols, which resulted in the election of L. C. McClerken and was so declared by the Mayor and he was duly qualified by F. G. Sampson, an acting Justice of the Peace for Dyer County

On motion it was ordered that the Board meet again tomorrow evening to receive the Bond of L. C. McClerken Marshall elect.

On motion Board adjourned.

Attest: A. C. White, Recorder