## BOARD MEETING January 9, 1883 Court House

Meeting of Board of Mayor and Aldermen was held in Court House on Tuesday night January 9, 1883.

Present Mayor B. L. Thomas, Aldermen A. B. Jones, Jno. M. Nichols, W. E. DeBerry, and W. R. Hayes and Marshal Jim Nichols.

Minutes of last meeting read and signed.

On motion report of finance committee to settle with J. M. Nichols Marshal read and committee discharged.

## Report -

We your committee on finance to settle with J. M. Nichols, Marshal 1882 report him: To account of taxes collected 1880

mm:	10 account of taxes confected 1880			182.40	
		66	"	1881	1,610.08
		"	"	1882	529.40
	To account	49.40			
	To account	253.15			

To acct. collected on old brick sold and cash in new pavement 279.35

TOTAL \$2,903.78

Cr. By

Acct. paid for Hartons pavement	21.35
Acct. paid for Jno. Sawyers pavement	30.00
Warrants canceled	1,352.92
Vouchers examined	1,048.22
Commissions on fines & taxes	131.22
TOTAL	\$2,578.71
Leaving balance in his hands	\$ 325.07

Respectfully submitted: W. R. Hayes

A. B. Jones

Ed W. Smith, Committee

## Jan. 8, 1883

On motion recorder was instructed to have finance report published in paper if it cost nothing.

On motion Board adjourned.

B. L. Thomas, Mayor

Attest: W. R. Hayes, Recorder

Following members of new Board being present and Marshal Elect for the Town of Dyersburg, Tennessee to serve for the year 1883 met at the Court House on Tuesday evening on the 9<sup>th</sup> day of January 1883 and presented the following certificate of election to H. P. Doyle, J.P. of Dyer County, to wit:

**State of Tennessee** 

**Dyer County** 

I, N. B. Tarrant, Sheriff of said county, do hereby certify that at the Town election held at the Court House in Dyersburg on the 1<sup>st</sup> Saturday in January 1883 the following Town was duly elected for the year 1883, to wit:

For Mayor - Beverly L. Thomas

Aldermen - Will R. Haves

Ed W. Smith

**Zach Watkins** 

A.B. Jones

James W. Baker

J. C. Pinner

Marshal J. P. Thurmond

**January 6, 1883** 

N. B. Tarrant, Sheriff, Dyer County

The Mayor, Aldermen and Marshall elect being present, except Ed. W. Smith, were duly sworn by said H. P. Doyle, Justice of the Peace of Dyer County.

Mayor Thomas called the Board to order and on motion W. R. Hayes was by acclamation duly elected Recorder and Treasurer for Town of Dyersburg for year 1883.

On motion bond of Recorder and Treasurer and Marshall was fixed at twenty five hundred dollars each.

On motion Ed Smith was elected Mayor Pro Tem for year 1883.

On motion B. F. Parker was elected Deputy Marshal for year 1883.

On motion Marshal J. P. Thurmond was instructed to have 200 to 500 copies of the Town Ordinance printed.

On motion adjourned to meet Tuesday night January 16, 1883 – following is a recapitulation of financial standing of the Corporation:

January 8, 1883 amt. of warrants outstanding	\$ 608.39
To be paid by acct. in J. W. Nichols hands	325.07
Taxes uncollected 1880	162.32
Taxes uncollected 1881	301.52
Taxes uncollected 1882	1,325.10
Fines uncollected 1881	137.65
Fines uncollected 1882	<u>279.45</u> 2,531.11
Leaving	1,922.72

Board adjourned to meet Tuesday night, January 16, 1883.

Attest: W. R. Hayes B. L. Thomas, Mayor