BOARD MEETING January 8, 1884 Court House

Be it remembered that a meeting of the Board of Mayor and Aldermen for Town of Dyersburg was held at Court House on Tuesday night, January 8, 1884.

Present Mayor B. L. Thomas, Aldermen A. B. Jones, E. W. Smith, J. C. Pinner, J. W. Baker, Z. R. Watkins and W. R. Hayes – Marshal J. R. Thurmond.

Minutes of last meeting read, approved and signed.

On motion committee on finance was discharged and Board adjourned.

Certificate of Election

For Mayor, Marshal and Aldermen for year 1884 was presented from A. B. Tarrant,

Sheriff of Dyer County and reads as follows, to wit:

State of Tennessee

Dyer County

At an election open and held in the Town of Dyersburg on Saturday the 5th day of January 1884 for the purpose of electing one Mayor, one Marshal and six Aldermen – Upon counting the ballot, B. L. Thomas was elected Mayor of Dyersburg, J. P. Thurmond was elected Marshal of Dyersburg and W. R. Hayes, Z. G. Watkins, E. W. Smith, J. W. Baker, A. B. Jones, J. C. Pinner were elected Aldermen for the year of 1884.

A. B. Tarrant, Sheriff

Following members of new Board being present were then sworn into office by H. R. Doyle an acting Justice of the Peace for Dyer County:

Mayor ----- B. L. Thomas

Alderman - Z. G. Watkins

Alderman - A. B. Jones

Alderman - Edward Smith

Alderman - J. C. Pinner

Alderman - J. W. Baker

Alderman - W. R. Hayes

Marshal - J. P. Thurmond

Board then being organized on motion, W. R. Hayes was elected Recorder &

Treasurer for year 1884.

On motion Edward Smith was elected Deputy Marshal for year 1884.

On motion W. R. Hayes was elected Mayor Pro Tem for year 1884.

On motion Recorder & Treasurer and Marshal bonds were fixed at \$3,000.00 each.

On motion Board adjourned to meet again Monday night January 14, 1884.

B. L. Thomas, Mayor

Attest: W. R. Hayes, Recorder