BOARD MEETING January 6, 1885 Court House

Board of Mayor and Aldermen for Town of Dyersburg met at Court House on Tuesday night January 6, 1885.

Present Mayor Thomas, Aldermen Smith, Jones, Pinner, Baker, Hayes and Marshal Thurmond.

Minutes of last meeting read, approved and signed.

772 - On motion account in favor Mark Oflory for four and 10/100 dollars allowed.

No further business appearing, on motion Board adjourned.

Following certificate of election having been presented by Sheriff Tarrant: State of Tennessee

Dyer County

At an election opened and held in the Town of Dyersburg, Tennessee on Saturday the 3rd day of January 1885 for the purpose of electing one Mayor, one Marshal and six Aldermen, upon counting the ballots, B. L. Thomas was elected Mayor of Dyersburg, J. P. Thurmond was elected Marshal of Dyersburg and Ed W. Smith, A. B. Jones, Z. W. Watkins, W. R. Hayes, Wm. Turner, J. W. Tenney were elected Aldermen for year 1885.

N. B. Tarrant, Sheriff

Dyer County

J. C. Pinner, Justice of the Peace, for said county, swore into office following members elect of new Board for year 1885: One member Z. G. Watkins being absent on account of sickness.

For Mayor ---- B. L. Thomas

For Aldermen Ed. W. Smith

A. B. Jones

W. R. Hayes

Wm. Turner

J. W. Tenney

For Marshall - J. P. Thurmond

Board then being organized – Ballot was taken and W.R. Hayes duly elected Recorder and Treasurer for year 1885. On motion W. R. Hayes was elected Mayor Pro-Tem for year 1885 and Recorder and Treasurer and Marshal were required to give bond in sum of Three Thousand Dollars.

On motion the valuation of Dr. Ferguson's residence was made and also the committee assessment.

On motion Board adjourned until Tuesday night, January 13, 1885.

B. L. Thomas, Mayor

Attest: W. R. Hayes, Recorder