BOARD MEETING January 11, 1886 Court House

Board of Mayor and Aldermen for the Town of Dyersburg met at Court House on Monday night January 11, 1886.

Monday mgnt January 11, 1000.

Present and presiding Mayor Thomas – Aldermen Watkins, Smith, Turner, Tenney

and Hayes and Marshal J. P. Thurmond.

Minutes of last meeting read, approved and signed.

On motion Ed Smith, committee on account presented by Jno. McGinnis for \$2.50

made report and committee was discharged and on motion account was allowed.

On motion N. B. Tarrant was allowed a warrant for Five and 60/100 dollars for

holding Corporation election on January 7, 1886.

The following certificates of election were presented, to wit:

This is to certify that at an election held by me this day after duly advertising the

same, Beverly L. Thomas was elected Mayor for the Town of Dyersburg, Tennessee to

serve for the year 1886 and 1887 - he having secured a majority of the votes cast in said

election for said office.

Given under my hand January 7, 1886.

N. B. Tarrant, Sheriff

This is to certify that after advertising as required by law I opened and held an

election in the Town of Dyersburg on this day for six Aldermen to serve said Town for the

years 1886 and 1887 which election resulted in the choice of W. R. Hayes, Z. G. Watkins.

J.M. Brackin, Wm. Turner. J. L. Sinclair and E. W. Smith, they receiving the greatest

number of votes cast in said election for Aldermen.

Given under my hand and seal this January 7, 1886.

N. B. Tarrant, Sheriff

H. P. Doyle, Justice of the Peace for Dyer County then swore in B. L. Thomas as Mayor

and Z. G. Watkins, Ed Smith, Wm. Turner, J. M. Brackin, Jno. L. Sinclair and W. R.

Hayes as Aldermen for Town of Dyersburg, Tennessee for years 1886 and 1887 and then:

On motion old Board adjourned.

Mayor Thomas then called the new Board to order and on motion W. R. Hayes was

elected Recorder and Treasurer of Dyersburg for the years 1886 and 1887.

On motion Board then went into an election for Town Marshal – which resulted in

the election of Edward Smith as Marshal of Dyersburg, Tennessee for the years 1886 and

887. On motion Edward Smith was then sworn into office by H. P. Doyle, J. P. On

motion Board adjourned to meet at Court House January 12th at 3:00 p.m. to take bonds of

Recorder and Treasurer and Marshal.

B. L. Thomas, Mayor

Attest: W. R. Hayes, Recorder